Disability Assessment Schedule

The WHODAS II has been developed to assess the activity limitations and participation restrictions experienced by an individual irrespective of medical diagnosis. Respondents are asked to state the level of difficulty experienced taking into consideration how they usually do the activity, including the use of any assistive devices and/or the help of a person. The domains included in the instrument are:

Understanding and Communicating
Getting Around
Self Care
Life Activities
Getting along with People
Participation in Society

This measure remains under development, and final versions are expected to be released in 2001. For the latest information and updates, please visit the WHODAS II web site at http://www.who.int/icidh/whodas.

Development of this instrument is a result of collaborations between the World Health Organization (WHO), National Institute on Mental Health (NIMH), National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism (NIAAA), and National Institute on Drug Abuse (NIDA). This project is known as the WHO/NIH Joint Project on assessment and classification of disablement.

Click here to download